Skip to main content

Cataloging Manual

Descriptive Cataloging Policies

Editing Bibliographic Records

  1. Recommended Enhancements and Corrections. Libraries are encouraged to make appropriate enhancements and corrections. Notification of holdings libraries is not necessary. Examples of enhancements are:
    • Upgrading fixed field information
    • Adding/changing call number
    • Completing missing data in CIP records
    • Adding titles or other added entries
    • Adding notes applying to the bibliographic record
    • Deleting obsolete fields that would not be caught by the exporting parameters
    • Correcting typographical errors
    • Correcting coding errors
    • Upgrading to International Standard Bibliographic Description (ISBD)
    • Adding missing/new access points (010, 020, 246, 730, etc.)
  2. Enhancements subject to authority control require updating the cataloging date. Examples of these enhancements are:
    • Adding/correcting subject headings
    • Changing obsolete headings
    • Adding/correcting headings
  3. Local notes placed in 590 fields must be prefaced with the institution’s name, followed by a colon. For a list of acceptable names, see Appendix B.
  4. Retain or add |g in enhanced 505 formatted contents note fields so that initial articles of titles and miscellaneous information contained in this sub-field such as volume numbers, chapter numbers, etc. will not be indexed in the title index.
  5. Printed reproductions of online resources should be cataloged as “non-microform reproductions” as defined in LCRI 1.11A. Under this approach, the bibliographic record should describe the reproduction, rather than the electronic resource itself and should include an appropriate 533 reproduction note.
     
    Example
    533 ## |a Printout. |b [Alliance, OH : |c Mount Union College Library, |d 2008]. |e 53 p. ; 28 cm. |n Printed from web site (June 4, 2008).
  6. Use the 586 field only for notes concerning officially sanctioned awards.The standardized list of juvenile literature awards can be found in Appendix J.
     
    Examples
    586 ## National Book Award, 2008
    586 ## Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction, 2000
    586 ## Academy Award for Best Picture, 2007
    586 ## Best Documentary, Appalachian Film Festival, 2009
  7. Do not use field 690 in OPAL cataloging. This field is not indexed. OPAL institutions whose records already contain 690s are encouraged to delete them or place them in an appropriate indexed field, such as the 590 field.
  8. Do not use field 790 in OPAL cataloging. This field is not indexed. Local name added entries, such as faculty authors, may be entered in field 700 as per AACR2 21.30F1.

Classification Policies

Libraries may use Library of Congress Classification, Dewey Decimal Classification, National Library of Medicine Classification, or Superintendent of Documents Classification (SuDoc). The call number field in bibliographic records is suppressed in the OPAC. When making a change in an item record call number, it is not necessary to make a corresponding change in the bibliographic record.

Serials Record Selection

Libraries should use their own discretion in choosing records for serials.

Serials Item Volume Standards

Libraries should use these guidelines when adding volume information to item record.

Doing so is necessary to enable proper reverse chronological listing of item records.

LIBRARY HAS Statements

Libraries should follow the standards for LIBRARY HAS statements defined in the OhioLINK Handbook.

Libraries should follow OPTION A. OhioLINK recommends that Level 3 summary holdings statement conventions be followed, and further recommends that Option A -- wherein enumeration and chronology is recorded together with captions in non-MARC LIB HAS fields -- as the preferred format.

  • v.1(2005)-
  • v.1(1991)-v.3(1993),v.5(1995)-   instead of v.1-v.3(1991-1993),v.5(1995)- or other variants
  • ed.1(2001)-ed.10(2008)
  • 1999- (no parentheses when there is no enumeration present)

Electronic Resources Cataloging

Libraries should follow OhioLINK’s standards for Cataloging Electronic Resources.

URLs for freely available content can be placed in the 856 field of the bibliographic record.

URLs for locally subscribed resources should be placed in an 856 ITEM FLD variable length field of an item record.

Please note:  As outlined in the Final Report of the Electronic Resources Task Force below, records for some types of materials are not to be included in the OPAL catalog.  These include, but are not limited to:

Type of material As Determined By
Databases OCLC Type/MARC leader byte 7 = 'i' AND OCLC Form/MARC 008 pos 23 = 'o'
Web sites OCLC Type/MARC leader byte 7 = 'i' AND OCLC Form/MARC 008 pos 23 = 'o'
Electronic journals OCLC Type/MARC leader byte 7 = 's' AND OCLC Form/MARC 008 pos 23 = 'o'
Online images OCLC Type/MARC leader byte 6 = 'k' AND OCLC Form/MARC 008 pos 23 = 'o'

 

Records for open access content may be added on a title-by-title basis.  However, en masse loading of entire collections is only permissible when the entire consortium agrees to have the collection added to their respective scopes.  For additional details, see Online Access Content.

Cataloging Juvenile Materials

Bibliographic records for juvenile materials should contain at least one Library of Congress Subject Heading.

If a bibliographic record has a juvenile subject heading, do not delete this heading or modify it to a Library of Congress Subject Heading. Add an appropriate Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Do not delete juvenile subject headings in an OCLC record before exporting.

If a juvenile book has received an award, add a 586 Juvenile Awards Note following the standardized list in Appendix J.

Adding Lexile Values

Lexile is used as a tool to measure student growth and provide a way to determine which books might be appropriate for students based on their reading abilities. As a result, education students and faculty tend to want to keyword search by Lexile value.

Unfortunately the $b of 521 8 where Lexile information is added to a MARC record is not searchable.

To rectify this issue we input the information with:

521 8 as xxxL Lexile, i.e. 521 8  670L Lexile  (NOT 521 8  670$b Lexile)

This allows for keyword searching for "lexile" or more specific searches by Lexile value or ranges, including using wildcards, e.g., "(11**L or 12**L) AND lexile".

Support runs catalog maintenance periodically to clean-up records that don't follow this format.

Policy On Use Of RDA Records

Records in either RDA or AACR2 may be exported into the OPAL catalog. Original cataloging by OPAL members may be accepted in either format, as long as it conforms to national cataloging standards and the national authority file. More info here: https://opal-libraries.org/rda