Skip to Main Content
Search this site
Community of Interest
Alumni Try to Rewrite History on College-Newspaper Web Sites
- Chronicle article that “discusses attempts by college alumni to conceal articles they wrote as students for their school’s newspapers. The digitization of college newspapers and periodicals has increased access to articles by alumni.”
Blog: Digitization in the Real World
- Blog which complements book of same title edited by Kwong Bor Ng and Jason Kucsma.
Digitization in the real world : lessons learned from small and medium-sized digitization projects
Handbook for Digital Projects: A Management Tool for Preservation and Access
- “The handbook serves as a management tool for institutions concerned with preservation-and-access issues.”
CARLI Guidelines for the Creation of Digital Collections: Digitization Best Practices for Images and Text (PDF)
- “This document sets forth guidelines for digitizing images and text for the CARLI Digital Collections. Topics covered include: image quality, file formats, storage and access. It was created by the CARLI Digital Collections Users’ Group (DCUG), standards subcommittee.”
CARLI Guidelines for the Creation of Digital Collections: Digitization Best Practices for Audio (PDF)
- “This document sets forth guidelines for digitizing audio materials for CARLI Digital Collections. The issues described concern sample rates, bit-depths, file formats, and equipment for the analog-to-digital conversion of audio materials. Background information on digital audio and a bibliography of selected additional readings are also provided.”
CARLI Guidelines for the Creation of Digital Collections: Digitization Best Practices for Moving Images (PDF)
- “This document sets forth guidelines for digitizing moving image materials for CARLI Digital Collections. It provides a set of recommendations for technical specifications that digital objects should adhere to, as well as a discussion of digital video concepts, file formats, web delivery, and digitization workflow.”
Well‐intentioned practice (WIP) for putting digitized collections of unpublished materials online
- Prepared by OCLC Research, this practice provides the framework for an assertive approach to digitization of unpublished archival materials. It has been endorsed as a standard by the Society of American Archivists (SAA) Council.
Turn Slides and Negatives into Digital Photos
- Directions on how to make an inexpensive adapter to scan slides or negatives using a regular flatbed scanner.
Rapid Capture: Faster Throughput in Digitization of Special Collections
- Published by OCLC. “This report provides examples of how to simplify and streamline digital capture of non-book collections.”
Sep 1, 2021 10:28 AM
Report a problem.